Strawberries and Rhubarb Bed

image

Some of the strawberry plants that I put in the greenhouse a few weeks ago have developed flowers already so I decided to plant them out in their designated area around my rhubarb crown. I managed to manure the bed in January so the soil is rich with worms 🙂

image

I dug all my strawberries up last year as most were eaten by a larvae. I saved a few strong offsprings so hopefully these will not be subject to the same fate this year! Has anybody else had strawberry larvae? I thought strawbs were hardy and resistant to pests and diseases!

2 comments

  1. I got the advice from a much more experienced vegetable gardener that growing bags are the best way to go with strawberries. Keeps the strawberries from going soft on the soil, and they’re pest-free!

Leave a Reply

