Early Rhubarb Jam

Yummy….I will definitely try this!

Southbourne Gardens

Saharan dust clouds aside we’re in the midst of perfect spring days here in London.  Heavy dew and light mists of the early morning giving way to sunny skies and the lightest of breezes. I must admit to having gone a bit Fotherington-Thomas yesterday, skipping around the plot photographing pear blossom and recording the birdsong.  It’s the perfect gardening weather. I should tell you that I’m only able to indulge in this because I’ve got Derek doing the digging and he’ll be handing the spade back next week when he returns to work.

Rhubarb Jam

I’ve have also finally got enough forced rhubarb to make jam. This has felt like months in the planning but the variety is Victoria which normally  arrives late in the season so no surprise. Anyway I’ve now picked two and half kilos and made two batches.  The recipe I followed was from The River Cottage Preserves Handbook…

View original post 106 more words

Leave a Reply

