Seeds, seeds seeds!

Today was a beautiful sunny day in March and the first day I have spent in my new home’s garden! I have been very lucky as the house has little homemade extras, including a tall lean-to greenhouse; south facing and big enough to germinate most of my seeds.

image

Today I intended to use up last years’ unused packeted seeds. Tomato (moneymaker), chilli (cayenne), and sweet pepper. Some of them might not take so I sowed them in bulk in the fruit punnets seen above. I read an interesting blog earlier actually about sterilzing soil for seedlings through heating compost on a bbq – was too much effort today for me but i might try it soon – see if there is any difference in success rates! When they become seedlings I will transplant stronger ones into pots and grow on as usual. My friends have started gardening so if I have too many will swap and share with them.

image

As you can see I have a bank of bought and saved seeds. Every time I sow, I label up the variety and date and note it down in my allotment planner so I can compare successes and failures year on year. The weather is so unpredictable these days that I’ve stopped sticking so rigidly to planting times! “Get ’em in” is my motto!

I’m still finding little extras with my new house; today I found some capsicum so planted a whole tray of them. Onions, peppers, garlic and chilli are all core foods in my diet and I love to have a selection of flavours!

image

The capsicum found in my outhouse!  Fingers crossed that they germinate! 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

